Oversized Crazy Pieced Foundation Bird Block Quilt

oversized crazy pieced foundation bird block

oversized crazy pieced foundation bird block

Currently, I am working on two quilts. Well, actually more if I were to count a couple of quilts that have been set aside for when I am inspired to finish them.

One is made with an odd fabric that I could not figure out how to use it until recently, but that is not the one in the picture. Maybe that one will be featured in another post as it had its own set of interesting challenges.

The one pictured here is the other one I am currently working on. It started as a foundation block I found on McCall’s Quilting website. It is the Bird Block, a free foundation-pieced quilt block pattern by Melinda Honn. My quilts are typically my original designs, completely, but I made an exception this time.

I wanted to start right away because I was eager to try something: using crazy pieced fabric for the fabric pieces in an enlarged foundation block for a small wall quilt. So, I found a foundation block on internet and enlarged it from the originally intended 5″ x 6″ size to 18″ x 18″. To do this, I enlarged the design 300% taking it up to 15″ x 18″ and then I added a vertical 1 1/2″ strip to the left and extended the units on the right side by 1 1/2″.

I crazy pieced scraps of fabric create larger pieces to use for the pieces. When the oversized block was done, I added a border.

The top is done and basted together with batting and backing. Now it needs to be quilted and finished with binding, rod pocked and label. Oh, and for the eye, it might make a fabric covered button.

I’m thinking for my next oversized, crazy pieced foundation block quilt, I will design my own block, one based on one of the birds that visit my yard, but not until this  one is finished.

Leave a Reply

