Orthopedic Boot Cover for Gardening

orthopedic boot cover for gardening

orthopedic boot cover for gardening

This morning, I made a cover for my orthopedic boot so I could garden without getting the boot dirty.

It is Spring and time to get the veggie garden ready for planting, tidy up the yard, plant some flowers and seeds and a new apple tree but there is the small matter of an orthopedic boot on my left leg. I usually wear an old pair of shoes for mucking around in the garden. I don’t want dirt and mulch to get in the boot that has an open toe.

So, the solution was to make a cover for it. I found a piece of vinyl left over from recovering the kitchen chair and some elastic. I doubt the bottom of the cover will last long, but I hope to be out of the boot before the cover falls apart. And if it does, the cover was not difficult to make and there are still more scraps of the fabric, so I can make another one.

This was not made from a pattern, but designed as I went. I did size it to my boot while wearing the boot.

marking fabric for orthopedic boot cover

marking fabric for orthopedic boot cover

I started with a rectangle of fabric. Pulled the sides up and marked them. Then stitched along the marked lines. I stitched across the point to make box pleat corners, but gave them a bit of a curve to fit the toe of the boot better. Next, I stitches elastic across the top (the back side) where it goes across the arch of the foot. To shape the heel, I put tape on the center of the back then pulled up a couple pleats on either side, marked them and then stitched the pleats. I put the cover on my boot and marked around from the center of top of the heel back around to the front to the corner where the arch meets the bottom to straighten out the back edge on both sides. Then trimmed along the line. Elastic was attached to the back with about 1/2″ overlap between the top of the back and the bottom of the elastic. I pulled the elastic so it was about two inches shorted than the fabric so it would make the cover tight enough to stay on. The front ends of the elastic are sewn to the edge of arch to secure the ends.

Leave a Reply

